2011 BioInterface Highlights

Download PDFs of the presentations below.

Monday, October 24: Workshop

Applied Technology Workshops

Keynote Speaker

  • David Mooney, Harvard University
    Controlling Cell Trafficking in Vivo with Biomaterials

Tuesday, October 25: Session 1: Improving Hemocompatibility

Session 2: Materiomics & Cell Biomaterial Interactions

Session 3: Heart Valves and Tissue Engineered Devices

Point-Counterpoint Session

"Let it be resolved that surface-immobilized heparin cannot be made obsolete; it will continue to be the most optimal blood compatible biointerface."

Wednesday, October 26: Session 4: Vascular Stent and Related Metallic Implants

Session 5: Surgical Biomaterials: Hemostats, Sealants, and Surgical Adhesives

Excellence in Surface Science Award

Session 6: Characterization of Biomaterials

Session 7: Biological Performance of Materials

BioInterface 2011 Photo Gallery

2011 Excellence in Surface Science Award Winner: Nicholas A. Peppas

Nicholas A. PeppasNicholas A. Peppas is the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair of Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Pharmacy; and chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, the National Ac1ademy of Engineering, the National Academy of Pharmacy of France, and the Texas Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Sciences. Peppas is a world leader in biomaterials, drug delivery and pharmaceutical bioengineering. Among other medical devices, he has developed, patented and/or commercialized nanodelivery systems for oral administration of insulin to type I diabetic patients, systems for oral delivery of calcitonin for treatment of postmenopausal women suffering from osteoporosis, new treatments of multiple sclerosis using interferon-beta, as well as intraocular lenses and artificial vocal cords. He has been recognized with awards from AIChE (Founders Award, William Walker Award, Institute Lecture, Jay Bailey Award, Bioengineering Award, Materials Award), BMES (Distinguished Scientist Award), AIMBE (Galletti Award), Society for Biomaterials (Founders, Clemson and Hall Awards), Controlled Release Society (Founders, Heller and Eurand Awards) and other societies. He is the President of the International Union of Societies of Biomaterials Science and Engineering and serves on the Board of the (US) Biomedical Engineering Society.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal